fair manager of the 2017 edition

“Don’t Agonize, Organize!”


The 6th edition of POPPOSITIONS took place from 20 to 23 April 2017 at ING Art Center. The building is located right at the heart of Brussels’ museum quarter on Place Royale, opposite from Royal Fine Art Museum, Magritte Museum and BOZAR, at a walking distance from the Sablon neighbourhood.

This year’s jury consisted of artist Kasper Bosmans, artist and curator Jo-ey Tang and curator Elise Lammer with the support of Niekolaas Johannes Lekkerkerk (The Office for Curating, NL), who has been appointed as artistic director. With the leitmotiv of “Don’t Agonize, Organize” as a leading principle, the jury has sought for proposals that steer and reinvent the political imagination by proposing diverse forms of political opposition that are rich in alternatives, concrete in propositions, and delivered through everyday projects. On this premise, the jury has selected 21 project spaces, artist initiatives and galleries that re-envision what it means to be grounded, accountable and active as part of a community with shared hopes and aspirations.

Visit the website of POPPOSITIONS


ARCHIRAAR GALLERY (Brussels, BE) Roman Moriceau (Germany, 1973) / LE CUBE – INDEPENDENT ART ROOM (Rabat, MA) Abdessamad El Montassir (Morocco, 1989) / CULTUURCENTRUM STROMBEEK (Strombeek-Bever, BE) Yannick Ganseman (Belgium, 1984) / DIENSTGEBÄUDE (Zürich, CH) Yoan Mudry (Switzerland, 1990) / DMW ART SPACE (Antwerp, BE) Johan Gelper (Belgium, 1980) / ALDAMA FABRE GALLERY (Bilbao, ES) Virginia Gamna (Italy, 1989) / FOKU – ESTONIAN UNION OF PHOTOGRAPHY ARTISTS (Tallinn, EE) Paul Kuimet (Estonia, 1984) / FORMATOCOMODO (Madrid, ES) Engel Leonardo (Dominican Republic, 1977) / RIANNE GROEN (Rotterdam, NL) Miko Veldkamp (Suriname, 1982) / KIM? CONTEMPORARY ART CENTRE (Riga, LV) Indrikis Gelzis (Latvia, 1988) / KRUPIC KERSTING KUK (Colonge, DE) Irena Eden (Germany, 1974) & Stijn Lernout (Belgium, 1972) / LAMART OFFSPACE (Antwerp, BE) Flurin Bisig (Switzerland, 1982) / MASSIMODELUCA (Venice, IT) Paolo Brambilla (Italy, 1990) / MAUVE (Vienna, AT) Melanie Ebenhoch (Austria, 1985), Bernhard Rappold (Austria, 1979) & Thomas Whittle (United Kingdom, 1988) / ONOMATOPEE (Eindhoven, NL) Bookshop & Project Space RUNDUM (Tallinn, EE) Kristina Ollek (Estonia, 1989) / SALÓN (Madrid, ES) Momu (Spain, 1982) & No Es (Switzerland, 1979) / SUNS AND STARS (Amtserdam, NL) Floris Schönfeld (United States, 1982) / SYNDICATE (Cologne, DE) Seecum Cheung (United Kingdom, 1984) / VITRINE (London, UK/Basel, CH) Sam Porritt (United Kingdom, 1979) / Ў GALLERY OF CONTEMPORARY ART (Minsk, BY) Jura Shust (Belarus, 1983)

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!